Crockpot Melt In Your Mouth BBQ Ribs

Hail the crockpot! One of the best inventions around since it makes weeknight cooking easy peezy. So I kept seeing pins on Pinterest about making crockpot ribs. Well, like many of us, I’ve never made ribs. Mainly fearing that I’ll botch a whole slab and then what a waste!?! Luckily I finally gave it a try and I was super impressed. I got the idea from a great blogger Amanda’s Cookin. My pictures don’t compare to Amanda’s and I have adapted the recipe so that anyone can make these easy ribs from home with little ingredients.  Slow Cooker Barbecued Country Style Ribs - AmandasCookin.com

What you’ll need:

  • BBQ rub seasoning packet or your own personal rub recipe (the rub along with the sauce makes for a lot of flavor)
  • Your favorite BBQ sauce – unfortunately I cannot give away my recipe; I swore to a dear friend not to give away his family’s wonderful secret!  If I can ever convince him to sell the recipe you’ll be the first to know.
  • Slab of pork back ribs or baby back ribs
  • 1 sweet onion
  • 3 misc. bell peppers (you could use other veggies that you prefer but keep in mind these veggies will be at the bottom of the crockpot)

What to do:

  • Cut sweet onion and peppers but don’t dice!  Layer these veggies on the bottom of the crockpot
  • Cut your slab up so that it’s manageable in the crockpot, around every 3rd bone
  • Pat rub over each rib
  • Place each group of ribs along the crockpot, layering over the veggies

Succulent ribs

  • Coat the top of each rib with BBQ sauce and heat on high for 4 hours

  • After 4 hours coat ribs again with sauce and either place on a baking sheet in the oven at 400ºF for 10 minutes if you like your ribs crispy or continue to heat in crockpot.

Melt In Your Mouth Crockpot BBQ Ribs

One thought on “Crockpot Melt In Your Mouth BBQ Ribs

Leave a Reply

