Cheesy Italian Bake

It’s hard for many of us to resist the urge of carbs; the satiable feeling of being full but at the same time filling out our waistline.  For the most part, I have cut out carbs from my eating lifestyle, which may have helped to my loss of over 20 lbs.  Not to say I don’t still indulge in carbs but I’ve changed my selection of carbs.  Instead of the cheap white flour, enriched flour, bleached flour, etc. that my body has fiend for years, I resort to whole grain replacements – those certified as actual whole grains.  Since this transformation I feel not only fuller but I noticed that my body reacts differently to these carbs.  I don’t feel quite as lethargic after eating a hefty bowl of whole grain pasta.

Not knowing what to make for dinner I mixed up this easy, cheesy Italian bake creation with less than 30 minutes of prep work.  You can easy substitute the veggies I selected in place of your favorites.

What You’ll Need:

  • 1/2 a box of whole grain pasta
  • 1 can of tomato sauce
  • 1 can of stewed tomatoes
  • Italian turkey sausage (if you don’t have Italian, you’ll need to substitute, adding 2 tablespoons of an Italian seasoning blend)
  • 2 cloves of garlic or 1/2 tablespoon of garlic powder
  • 1/2 tablespoon of onion powder
  • 1 1/2 cups of chopped veggies – asparagus & orange pepper
  • 1 cup of low-fat shredded mozzarella cheese
  • 1/4 cup grated parmesan cheese
Cheesy Italian Bake Ingredients

Spent less than $10 to serve a family of 4!

What To Do:

  • First, create a slit along the casing of your turkey sausages, squeezing all of the ground turkey into a heated pan for browning
  • While meat is browning, chop all veggiesChopped veggies
  • In a medium saucepan heat tomato sauce, stewed tomatoes, onion powder, garlic and veggiesCheesy italian bake sauce
  • Prepare pasta noodles according to package
  • After meat is browned, drain any remaining fat and pre-heat your oven to 350ºF
  • Mix sauce, pasta noodles and meat in a large casserole dish
  • After mixture is thoroughly combined, layer mozzarella and parmesan on top baking in the oven uncovered until cheese is melted and golden

Cheesy Italian Bake

One thought on “Cheesy Italian Bake

Leave a Reply

