Clean Eating Taco Seasoning

While going through some of my pantry items I took notice of the laundry list of chemicals and preservatives that I’m ingesting every day.  Anything with the word hydrogenated pretty much stands for fat (trans and saturated), brominated vegetable oil is a flame retardant and used in many bottled drinks and studies have shown that those unnatural coloring dyes that usually begin with a number have led to ADHD and other illnesses within kids.

There were so many chemicals in the taco seasoning I used on a weekly basis I became motivated to create my own, all natural taco seasoning.

Mix these:

  • 1 tsp. cilantro
  • 1 tsp. cayenne pepper
  • 1/4 cup & 1 Tbsp. chili powder
  • 1 Tbsp. black pepper
  • 1 tsp. sea salt
  • 2 Tbsp. & 1.5 tsp. cumin
  • 1 & 1/4 tsp. garlic powder
  • 1 & 1/4 tsp. onion powder
  • 1 & 1/4 tsp. crushed red pepper flakes
  • 1 & 1/4 tsp. oregano
  • 2 & 1/2 tsp. paprikaTaco seasoning ingredients

I recommend using between 2 – 4 Tbsp. of the mix to every 1 lb. of ground meat.

All natural taco seasonings ready to be mixed

As a reminder of all those additives I reused my old taco seasoning container for the new.  As you can see I have many more batches to go to reach the top!

Reusing the old taco seasoning containers

Leave a Reply

